The Directorate of Art & Culture, formerly known as the Naga Institute of Culture, came into being on 1st November, 1964. The objective initially was to carry on research on Naga life and culture and to built up the nucleus for the State Museum and a Research Library, headed by a Research Officer. Later in 1971, the Department was re-named as the Directorate of Cultural Research & State Museum. Again on the 4th December 1973, the Department was finally renamed as the Directorate of Art & Culture.

FUNCTIONS AND DUTIES: The Department of Art & Culture primarily deals with the tangible and intangible heritage. In a larger perspective, it also address the issues relating to history, value and beliefs in conjunction with other Department. The objectives and policies for promotion of Art & Culture are implemented through different schemes operated departmentally. Activities in the Art & Culture Department can be broadly classified under the following subject matters: –
(1) Promotion of Culture
(2) Performing Arts
(3) Promotion of Library Services
(4) Archeology
(5) Development of Archives
(6) Registration of Antiquity
(7) Cultural Research & Studies
(8) Plastic and Fine Arts
(9) Development of Museum
(10) Protection of Heritage Sites

ORGANISTION: The Department of Art & Culture includes the Directorate of Art & Culture and the Nagaland District Gazetteers Unit, functions as the nodal agency for formulation of the State Art & Culture policies and programmes. The Administrative Head of the Department is the Commissioner and Secretary Department of Art & Culture assisted by a Deputy Secretary, Under Secretary and a small subordinate staff. The Department is further headed by a Director with supporting officers as under: –
(1) One Additional Director
(2) One Joint Director
(3) Three Deputy Director
(4) Four Assistant Director
(5) One Art Executive
(6) One Registrar
(7) Three Office Superintendents
(8) One Research Officer
(9) One Investigator
(10) One Guide Lecturer
(11) One Cultural Officer
(12) One Art Expert
(13) One Curator
(14) One Librarian
(15) One Senior Artist
(16) One Archivist
(17) One Deputy Librarian
(18) One Planning Officer cum Reference Librarian
(19) One Art Curator and other technical and ministerial staff.

The District Gazetteers Unit is headed by a State Editor assisted by two Compilers and a few Ministerial staff.

The Antiquity Registration Office at Dimapur forming a District level organization is headed by a Registering Officer. Apart from this, there are seven Cultural Centres located in each District Headquarters Kohima, Mokokchung, Mon, Tuensang, Zunheboto, Phek, and Wokha, headed by a District Cultural Officer. The proposal for creation of District Cultural Office at Longleng, Kiphire and Peren had been submitted to the Government .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s