In order deal with the border related issues with the neighboring states, the Department of Border Affairs was first established on 9th June, 1983 headed by an Advisor and Ex-Officio Secretary, Border Affairs. However it was only from 10th March 2006 that it started functioning as a Directorate under the administrative control of Commissioner, Nagaland as its Ex-Officio Director comprising both the Secretariat staff and Field Level Officers under a single line of administration. The Directorate was further strengthen and allowed to perform the functions of the Secretariat of Border Affairs with the Ex-officio Director of Border Affairs as its Secretary

Functional scope of the Department:
(i) Administer the Nagaland Assam border dispute.
(ii) Administer the Border between Nagaland & Manipur.
(iii) Administer the border between Nagaland Arunachal Pradesh.
(iv) Maintenance of Indo-Myanmar Boundary Pillars adjoining Nagaland State under Government of India, MHA (BM) directives.
(v) Matters relating to creation of Research Cell for collection and compilation of old record/documents and Maps on Border areas with explanatory notes.
(vi) Preparation of History sheet of boundary disputes.
(vii) Co-ordinates with various development agencies of the Government in carrying out plans, schemes and programmes along the Inter-State Borders and International Border.
(viii) Matter relating to constitution of Enquiry Committee by the Central Government and other relevant matters in the disputed areas along the Inter-State Borders.
(ix) Any other function (s) that may be assigned temporarily or on a permanent basis as may deem fit by the Government.

Organizational Structure of the Department:
(i) Administratively, the Department of Border Affairs is under the Addl. Chief Secretary, Border Affairs as the Administrative Head of the Department of Border Affairs.
(ii) The Commissioner, Nagaland is designated as Ex-Officio Director of Border Affairs.
(iii) The Joint Secretary, Border Affairs is functioning as Ex-Officio Addl. Director of Border Affairs.
(iv) Deputy Secretary Border Affairs.
(v) Under Secretary, Border Affairs.
(vi) 4 (four) post of Deputy Directors.
(vii) 1 (one) post of Assistant Superintendent.
(viii) 1 (one) UDA-cum-Accountant.
(ix) Record Keeper (1 post).
(x) Steno Gr-III (1 post).
(xi) LDA-cum-computer Asst. (2 posts).
(xii) Office peon-cum-Chowkidar (2 posts).
(xiii) Driver Gr-II (6 posts).

The Department functions under two tier systems –
(i) State Level:- At the State level, the Secretariat-cum-Directorate of Border Affairs functions as the apex and nodal agency of the Department to co-ordinate with Heads of Department in the State, and Govt. of India on all issues pertaining to its border.
(ii) District level:- At the District level respective Dy. Commissioners assisted by Border Magistrates and concerned administrative officers co-ordinate and supervises the border areas and keeps the Directorate of Border Affairs informed of all happenings in their respective Districts.

Address of the Organization:
Addl. Chief Secretary & Ex-Officio Director.
Directorate of Border Affairs, Commissioner s Office
Nagaland : Kohima.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s